What I Like in Otome Game Heroines

While I was watching Episode 18 of the podcast Otome Shimai, I started thinking about what traits I, personally, like in an otome heroine. Blerdy Otome also did a similar post to this which you can find here.

I have a confession to make, though: I like the vast majority of heroines. Even the heroine from Amnesia, who doesn’t have much personality, has this little bit that I find quite likable (and the game explains her being a blank slate by her having amnesia). However, there are a few traits that stand out to me.


Kindness

I like heroines who are kind. They may sometimes struggle with being too kind, but as a person who is generally kind to others, I tend to relate to these heroines.

Example: Kotone Awaki

Kotone from Cafe Enchante is kind and I relate to that kindness a lot. She is, in my opinion, a bit too kind, but I am, as well. Despite her being too kind, she can sometimes actually be selfish, which I like as I don’t believe anyone is kind all of the time.

Devoted

I like heroines that are devoted to their, hopefully equally as devoted, love interests. Seeing characters put their love before themselves is very romantic, though they sometimes do it to an unhealthy degree.

Example: Yurika Arisu

While Yurika from Taisho x Alice is one of the heroines that I believe to be devoted to her love interests to an unhealthy degree, as seen in Kaguya’s, Wizard’s, and Alice’s routes, in fiction, I find that devotion to be (mostly) romantic and entertaining. I’ll never forgive the writers for Kaguya’s good ending for being like that, though.

Imaginative

I have only had the opportunity to become acquainted with one extremely imaginative heroine, the one from Scandal in the Spotlight! Her imagination runs wild so often and I find it simply hilarious! It’s also very endearing.

*No image as Voltage does not allow the sharing of CGs and she does not appear on the title screen

Character Development

I like heroines who get character development. It makes them far more interesting than a static one who doesn’t change at all. While static characters do have their place, I just prefer main characters to have some development.

Example: Cardia Beckford

While there are some heroines that might be a better example than Cardia, such as Lucette from Cinderella Phenomenon, I had to include my favorite otome heroine in this post. Cardia is very weak (for lack of a better term) at the start of the game, but grows to become very strong with the help of her love interests.


Related Posts

Cafe Enchante Review

My 5 Favorite Otome Game Heroines

Heroines I Want to Date

One response to “What I Like in Otome Game Heroines”

  1. Always love MC appreciation posts! I wish that liking the majority of otome heroines doesn’t require a confession though 😢 and that the majority of the otome community also likes the majority of MCs.

    Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started