My 5 Favorite Otome Heroines

Chizuru Yukimura

I have not finished Hakuoki yet (routes done: Hijikata, Okita, Sanan, Iba, Sakamoto, Chikage), but Chizuru is one of my favorite heroines. She is a controversial one, but I adore her! I can’t say much about her without spoiling, but despite her often not being able to fight, she has complex emotions to uncover and she does her best to always support her love interests and/or the Shinsengumi. I like her especially well in Okita’s route. Overall, I find Chizuru to be a heroine that I relate to a lot.

Kotone Awaki

Another game with a great heroine is Cafe Enchante. Kotone is a great heroine for seeming to just be an average, kind girl – but she’s more than that. She is strong in a very realistic manner, and accepts her love interests no matter what. She is incredibly brave in the face of danger that the other worlds (and this one) bring. She also has realistic flaws, such as struggling to be straightforward and being slightly selfish. She’s another heroine that I relate to, but I also look up to her for her bravery.

Yurika Arisu

I’ve only finished Cinderella’s route in Taisho x Alice, along with playing a little bit of Red Riding Hood’s, but Yurika is another heroine that I adore! She is very smart at getting what she wants, which is something that I love about her. She has a sense of humor and knows how to tease her love interests. She knows how to stand up for herself. I enjoy that she is bilingual and, in the English version of the game, sometimes speaks in Japanese with the English word or phrase in parentheses (it is the opposite in the Japanese release.) #LifeGoals

Lucette Riella Britton

Lucette from Cinderella Phenomenon starts the game out as an “Ice Princess,” but with the help of a witch named Delora putting a curse on her and the help of new friends and love interests that come of that curse, she grows into a more kind person. She goes through amazing character development in each route!

Cardia Beckford

I’ve mentioned before that Code:Realize is my favorite otome game, and a very large part of that is how great the heroine, Cardia, is. The story is about her poisonous body and her and her love interests trying to find a way to get rid of that poison – if you want to make the story a lot simpler. She is very lonely at the start of the game, as she has been locked in a house and forbidden from leaving from her father, but makes new friends out of the love interests who rescue her, who also teach her how to do things like fighting and self defense. The story does a great job of developing her along with the love interests (or her familial relationship with Finis if you play the fan disc, Future Blessings.) and their relationships. Also, I wish I could marry her.

That’s all of my favorite heroines! My favorites tend to fall into three different categories – ones I can relate to, ones I look up to, and ones that are just as important to the story as their love interests.

4 responses to “My 5 Favorite Otome Heroines”

  1. […] My 5 Favorite Otome Heroines – Feminine Frenzy (Amanda) […]

    Like

  2. YES I love Chizuru and am so, so glad to see her on your list! I have a bunch of thoughts on her that I need to organize but I think you summarized it up really well with “despite her often not being able to fight, she has complex emotions to uncover and she does her best to always support her love interests and/or the Shinsengumi.” She always works hard to help out the people around her even if it’s “just” cleaning up around the compound, and offering emotional support and encouragement is definitely one of her most noticeable strengths. I think in modern times she’d be a psychiatrist.

    Not sure why you like her in Okita’s route but if it’s because their dynamic seems more like equals, then Heisuke and Yamazaki are also good routes =) This post was also 3 months ago so maybe you’ve played them already.

    Like

    1. femininefrenzy Avatar
      femininefrenzy

      Thank you! I love Chizuru so much, so it’s nice to see her get love!

      I like her in Okita’s route because I felt that, of the routes I’ve played, we get to see the most of her past. It could also just be first route bias, as well.

      Like

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started